top of page
  • Writer's picturejoshua kwonski

"Little Josh"

Updated: Apr 6, 2018

With Peter travelling quite often and having been away from home in Canada for unknown periods at a time, it was challenging for all of us. Mom knew just how much Peter missed me and wanted him to have a version of me no matter where he was. That's when Little Josh (LJ) entered our lives. He was like a mail-order companion, with mom having found him online. She arranged for him to be sent to Peter in California.


Peter and LJ took to one another really organically and their friendship blossomed. Of course, I wasn't that comfortable with this arrangement at first and admit to feeling jealous and dispensable. But, Peter now wasn't alone and I wasn't being replaced so much as I was being recreated as 'an experience' for him. Mom reminded me of this and it didn't take long before I accepted Little Josh for what he was.


Mom thought it was so adorable that Peter would share photos of Little Josh and him hanging out together. Just like he did with me, Peter took LJ to work and practically wherever he went. It turns out, LJ was more like me than I wanted to admit. Peter shared pictures of him curled up in his bed sheets, watching Peter work, begging for food...basically keeping an eye on Peter's whereabouts and whatabouts at all times.


I'm grateful that Mom, Peter and I are together as a family in California now. Recently, Little Josh confided in me that he's thinking of going on an extended holiday to an undisclosed destination - something about wanting to see and experience more. I haven't told Mom and Peter yet.



Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page